Two out of the four AIADMK councillors, who emerged victorious against the DMK wave in the Chennai Corporation elections, resigned on Monday from their posts. The councillors in their resignation letters to the Chennai Corporation commissioner M.P. Vijayakumar said since the elections were held in an undemocratic manner they were quitting from their posts.

Councillors Sundaramurthy and Krishnan, who won in wards 61 and 71 respectively, were reportedly asked to resign from their posts by the AIADMK headquarters to protest the violence and booth capturing that went unchecked during the October 13 civic polls.   Meanwhile, the other two AIADMK councillors Bose and Bhuvaneshwari, who won the elections from ward one and 26 respectively, have been expelled for anti-party activities.

According to a release from the AIADMK headquarters, party supremo J. Jayalalithaa had expelled the two councillors.   Party sources said the two councillors had refused to heed to the party high command’s decision to resign their posts. The release asked the AIADMK functionaries and cadres not to contact the expelled councillors. With this move, the ruling DMK would function without an opposition for the first time in the history of the Chennai Corporation council.

The AIADMK had won four wards – two have resigned and two councillors have been expelled.  Later, the two elected AIADMK councillors Mr. Krishnan and Mr Sundaramurthy resigned the councillor’s post and called on Ms. Jayalalithaa at her residence and pledged their support to her. Meanwhile, former zone nine chairman M. Subramaniam, MGR Nagar (ward 130) councillor K. Dhanasekaran and Chepauk constituency secretary Suresh Kumar are now in the race for the mayor’s post.

The Chennai Corporation is now gearing up to elect the mayor and deputy mayor on October 29. With just five days to go for the indirect elections, the corporation personnel on Monday started the renovation works of the council.  It may be recalled that following the large-scale rigging and booth capturing by the supporters of DPA, the AIADMK had filed a petition in the Madras high court seeking to declare the elections as invalid. But the high court and later the Supreme Court gave the go ahead to the Election Commission for the counting to begin.