Filmi fest in Chennai

September 10th, 2007

The Madras Film Society along with the National Film Development Corporation will organize a six-day ‘Festival of Indian Films’ from Monday at the Film Chamber theatre in Chennai. Each day, they will screen one film selected from different regions of the country. The festival will be inaugurated by K Rajagopal, president, South Indian Film Chamber […]


Param Acharya, Acharya awards presented to 14 doyens

September 6th, 2007

Moment of honour: Recipients of the Param Acharya and Acharya awards with Sankara Nethralaya chairman emeritus S.S. Badrinath at the function held in Chennai on Wednesday. Fourteen doyens in their respective fields who inspired people with their teaching were honoured with ‘Param Acharya’ and ‘Acharya’ awards on Wednesday. Instituted by the ‘Call Teachers 25555555’ tele-information […]


Kamal and Ajith bag the best actors award

September 4th, 2007

Chennai Film Fans’ Association has announced this year’s list of awardees. Kamal Haasan and Ajith have been selected as the best actors. While Kamal gets the award for his performance in Vettayadu Vilaiyadu, Ajith has been chosen for his acting skills in Thirupathi. Nayantara bags the best actress award. The awards ceremony will be held […]


Kalaimamani award

September 4th, 2007

The 41st annual Kalaimamani award function took place day before yesterday at the Kalaivanar Arangham. Tamilnadu Governor Surjit Singh Barnala gave away the award and Chief Minister M Karunanidhi gave away the medallion. Poet Kalapriya, writer Vannadasan, producer Kovai Thambi, directors Parthiban and Seeman are among the awardees. Other awardees from the film world honored […]

AwardsNewsReal Estate

Three from IIT-K win innovation award

August 29th, 2007

Manoj Kumar Tripathy, Abhishek and Rahul Sharma of IIT Kanpur have won the Lucas TVS Innovation Award for securing first place in the national-level design contest for engineering students, conducted by the Product Development and Management Association of India (PDMA). The trio won a cash prize of Rs one lakh. The second prize of Rs […]


Vijay&Shankar conferred doctorate

August 28th, 2007

Actor Vijay and director Shankar were conferred doctorate at the 16th convocation function of Dr MGR University in Chennai on Aug 27, Monday evening Vijay and Shankar congratulated each other


Lifestyle Show-2007

May 26th, 2007

The Hindu- Metro Plus launched their `Lifestyle Show-2007` at Taj Ball room, Chennai on May 23, Wednesday evening at a star studded party. There was a fashion show and it turned out to be a memorable evening for the special invitees with cocktails, dinner and music.


Umara Pulavar Award to Chief Minister M Karunanidhi

May 25th, 2007

Chief Minister M Karunanidhi will be conferred with ‘Umara Pulavar Award’ during the three-day international Islamic Tamil Literary convention which begins in Chennai from 25 May. Speaking to reporters here yesterday, Idhayathullah, general secretary, Islamic Ilakiya Kazhagam said the award is given to the Chief Minister for his contribution to Tamil literature. The award to […]


Reema Sen gets best actress award for Vallavan

May 15th, 2007

After ‘Rendu,’ Reema Sen seems to have disappeared from Tamil cinema. She says Tamil cinema has not shunned her, but she has turned down offers since the story and character were nothing to rave about. Reema Sen may not have Tamil film on hand, but she is acting in a Telugu and a Hindi film. […]


Tangle in Anniyan’s Award

May 11th, 2007

Fifty third national film awards were to be announced on the 12th of May which has been stayed by the Delhi High court. This comes in wake of a petition filed by a jury member Shyamali Bannerjee in the award panel who claimed favoritism in the selection of films. Tamil film Anniyan and Hindi film […]


Kalaimamani awards announced

May 11th, 2007

The state government has announced Kalaimamani awards Thursday. Popular film personalities including Silambarasan, Vishal, Jayam Ravi, Jeeva, Vineeth, Venu Aravindh, Kanja Karupu, Trisha, Navya Nair, Deepa Venkat, Aarthy and CID Sakunthala have been selected to receive the awards. Also lyricists Pa Vijay, Kabilan, Na Muthukumar and music composer Vidyasagar have been chosen for the honor. […]


Mohanlal wins Amritha Awards for Keerthi Chakra and Vadakunnathan

May 8th, 2007

Mohanlal is undoubtedly one of the most talented actors in Indian cinema. He has several hit films under his belt and had won National Awards for best actor twice for his performance in Bharatham and Vaanaprastham. He had also been conferred India’s highest civilian honour Padma Shri Award for his contribution to Indian cinema. His […]