India’s national selectors announced that the same 15 players who formed the squad for the Rajkot one-dayer against Sri Lanka would travel to the West Indies for the forthcoming World Cup. The selectors stuck to a conservative approach and pulled no major surprises.

“Most of the squad selected themselves, based on merit and their performance,” captain Rahul Dravid said at a press conference at the Wankhede stadium.

The Delhi batsman did not get to bat in the rained out first ODI against the Lankans, and made 19 in the second at Rajkot yesterday.

Former captain Sourav Ganguly gets another shot at the game’s most coveted trophy, which he came close to capturing when he led India to the final at the previous edition in South Africa.  

  • Rahul Dravid (C)
  • Sachin Tendulkar (VC)
  • Sourav Ganguly
  • Robin Uthappa
  • Dinesh Karthik
  • MS Dhoni
  • Anil Kumble
  • Harbhajan Singh
  • Munaf Patel
  • S Sreesanth
  • Irfan Pathan
  • Yuvraj Singh
  • Virender Sehwag
  • Ajit Agarkar
  • Zaheer Khan

The national selectors, who met at the Wankhede Stadium here, said the same squad with the addition of Rudra Pratap Singh and Suresh Raina would play the last two one-dayers against Sri Lanka.