Dhoni and Gambhir lead India to World Cup glory

India won World Cup again after 28 years

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Gautam Gambhir pulled off an impressive run chase to beat Sri Lanka by six wickets in the World Cup final in Mumbai.

Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat first, Mahela Jayawardene despite a wonderful 103 not out off just 88 balls and featured in half-century stands with Sangakkara (48), Thilan Samaraweera (21) and Nuwan Kulasekara (32) to take Sri Lanka to 274-6.

Yuvraj Singh (2-49) was once again the pick of the Indian bowlers, while Zaheer Khan also grabbed a two wickets in 60 balls.

Sehwag was gone lbw for nought to only the second ball when he aimed across the line and missed.

There was to be no finest hour for Tendulkar either, and it seemed a crushing setback to Indian morale when he edged behind. But the 109-run partnership between Gautam Gambhir (97) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (91 not out) hauled them back on track and they overwhelmed the target in the 49th over.

India won their second World Cup title after a wait of 28 years.